House of Lords Journal Volume 26
January 1746, 1-10


History of Parliament Trust


Year published





Comment on this article
Double click anywhere on the text to add an annotation in-line

Citation Show another format:

'House of Lords Journal Volume 26: January 1746, 1-10', Journal of the House of Lords volume 26: 1741-1746 (1767-1830), pp. 526-527. URL: Date accessed: 28 November 2014.


(Min 3 characters)

January 1746, 1-10

DIE Martis, 7o Januarii.

Domini tam Spirituales quam Temporales præsentes fuerunt:

Epus. Roffen.
Epus. Sarum.
Epus. Oxon.
Epus. Landavens.
Epus. Bangor.
Epus. Asaphen.
Epus. Meneven.
Ds. Hardwicke, Cancellarius.
Dux Dorset, Præses.
Dux Montagu.
Dux Portland.
March. Tweeddale.
Comes Derby.
Comes Pembroke.
Comes Warwick.
Comes Carlisle.
Comes Shaftesbury.
Comes Portmore.
Comes Oxford.
Comes Rockingham.
Comes Graham.
Comes Ker.
Comes Effingham.
Comes Bath.
Viscount Fauconberg.
Viscount Hatton.
Viscount St. John.
Viscount Torrington.
Ds. Willoughby Par.
Ds. Strange.
Ds. Cornwallis.
Ds. Hervey.
Ds. Hay.
Ds. Masham.
Ds. Foley.
Ds. Bathurst.
Ds. Onslow.
Ds. Fitzwilliam.
Ds. Sandys.


E. Rockingham takes his Seat.

Thomas Earl of Rockingham sat first in Parliament, after the Death of his Brother Lewis Earl of Rockingham; his Lordship having, at the Table, taken the Oaths, and made and subscribed the Declaration, and also taken and subscribed the Oath of Abjuration, pursuant to the Statutes.

Bp. of Chichester to preach 30th Instant.

Ordered, That the Lord Bishop of Chichester be, and he is hereby, desired to preach before this House, in the Abbey Church, Westminster, on the 30th Day of this Instant January.

Vincent's Bill.

Hodie 2a vice lecta est Billa, intituled, "An Act for empowering Francis Vincent Esquire to make a Jointure on any future Marriage, and Provision for his Daughters and Younger Sons."

Ordered, That the said Bill be committed to the Consideration of the Lords following; (videlicet,)

Ld. President.
D. Montagu.
D. Portland.
M. Tweeddale.
E. Derby.
E. Pembroke.
E. Warwick.
E. Carlisle.
E. Shaftesbury.
E. Portmore.
E. Oxford.
E. Rockingham.
E. Graham.
E. Ker.
E. Effingham.
E. Bath.
V. Fauconberg.
V. St. John.
V. Torrington.
L. Bp. Rochester.
L. B. Salisbury.
L. B. Oxford.
L. B. Landaff.
L. B. Bangor.
L. B. St. Asaph.
L. B. St. Davids.
L. Willoughby Par.
L. Strange.
L. Cornwallis.
L. Hervey.
L. Hay.
L. Masham.
L. Foley.
L. Bathurst.
L. Onslow.
L. Fitzwilliam.
L. Sandys.

Their Lordships, or any Five of them; to meet on Wednesday the 22d Day of this Instant January, at the usual Time and Place; and to adjourn as they please.


Dominus Cancellarius declaravit præsens Parliamentum continuandum esse usque ad & in diem Martis, decimum quartum diem instantis Januarii, hora undecima Auroræ, Dominis sic decernentibus.