Editorial note


Victoria County History



William Farrer & J. Brownbill (editors)

Year published





Comment on this article
Double click anywhere on the text to add an annotation in-line

Citation Show another format:

'Editorial note', A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 8 (1914), pp. XV-XVIII. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53254 Date accessed: 24 November 2014.


(Min 3 characters)



The Editors wish to express their gratitude for the assistance afforded them during the compilation of this volume by Mr. T. A. Argles, Lieut.-Col. Bagot, M.P., Mr. Wilson Butler, Mr. W. G. Collingwood, M.A., F.S.A., Mr. H. Swainson Cowper, F.S.A., Mr. E. B. Dawson, LL.B., J.P., the Rev. J. K. Floyer, M.A., F.S.A., Mr. J. R. Ford, the late Mr. Harper Gaythorpe, the Rev. Canon Greenwell, D.C.L., F.R.S., F.S.A., Mrs. Hastings, Mr. W. Hewitson, Mr. S. Hart Jackson, Colonel B. N. North, C.B., M.V.O., Mr. J. R. Nuttall, Mr. W. H. Satterthwaite, M.A., Mr. R. Stanton, Mr. William Tilly, sen., Mr. William Tilly, jun., Miss Tomlinson, the Most Rev. Archbishop Whiteside, the town clerks of Barrow and Lancaster and the librarian of Lancaster.

They also desire to thank Mr. J. P. Rylands, F.S.A., for revising the heraldry.

For the use of plans and photographs and for information regarding the architecture of the county the Editors are indebted to Sir George F. Toulmin, M.P., the Society of Antiquaries, Mr. James Atkinson, Messrs. Austin & Paley, the Rev. R. O. Bilsborrow, the Rev. J. A. Burrow, M.A., Mr. W. G. Collingwood, M.A., F.S.A., Mr. H. Swainson Cowper, F.S.A., the Council of the Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian and Archaeological Society, Mr. J. F. Curwen, F.S.A., the late Mr. Harper Gaythorpe, Mr. S. B. Gaythorpe, the Rev. Canon W. B. Grenside, M.A., the Rev. J. H. Hastings, M.A., the Rev. John Hodgkin, Mr. W. H. St. John Hope, M.A., D.Litt., D.C.L., Mr. Norman Jones, the Rev. T. N. Postlethwaite, B.A., Mr. R. Stanton, and the late Mrs. Lees.


The publication of the volumes of this series which form the History of the County of Lancaster is due to the financial support afforded by the Right Hon. the Viscount Hambleden, the Right Hon. the Viscount Alverstone, G.C.M.G., the Right Hon. the Lord Ashcombe, Mr. O. E. D'Avigdor Goldsmid, D.L., Mr. Somerset A. Beaumont, D.L., Mr. William Farrer, D.Litt., and the late Mr. Frank McClean, F.R.A.S., of whose public spirit and generosity it is here desired to make special recognition.