XLIV.—No. 16, LITTLE WILD STREET (Demolished).
Little Wild Street was formed about 1690, for a deed, (fn. 1) dated 1st
September in that year, refers to a "toft, peece or parcell of ground, being
parcell of the garden late belonging to Weld House in or near Weld Streete
… abutting towards the south to a new streete or passage of thirty foote
in breadth there made or intended to be made, to lead out of Weld Streete
towards Duke Streete [Sardinia Street] and the arch in Great Lincolne's
Plate 34 shows the south side of the street in 1906. The tenement
houses were probably some of the original houses erected about 1690, and
their effect is charming.
The name of the street was altered in 1905 to Keeley Street.
On Plate 15 is a drawing showing the frieze of an 18th-century deal
mantelpiece now on loan at the London Museum.
The house has recently been demolished.
In the Council's collection are:—
(fn. 2) Little Wild Street. View in 1906 looking north-east (photograph).
(fn. 2) No 16, Little Wild Street. Frieze, etc., of carved deal mantelpiece (measured
Baptist Chapel, Little Wild Street. Exterior before demolition of adjoining
Baptist Chapel, Little Wild Street. Exterior after demolition of stables
Baptist Chapel, Little Wild Street. Interior (photograph).
||Indenture between Isaac Foxcroft and others and Hugh Jones (in possession of the
London County Council).