XXI.—Formerly No. 41 QUEEN'S ROAD WEST
This house, which stood on the north side of the road next but one to
the eastern corner of Christchurch Street, was of early date and probably one of
the original buildings of Paradise Row. It, and its fellow, stood back a considerable distance from the street, and shops belonging to them had been built
on the intervening space. The shop-front of No. 41 has been thought worthy
of inclusion here on account of the persistent tradition that ascribed its design
to Pugin. We learn from Mr. William Ascroft, whose family resided in
Paradise Row for a very long period, that a carpenter employed by Pugin lived
here, and must, in all likelihood, have built the front. Although it is conceivable that the man may have put together various details of Pugin's in a
design of his own, yet it seems more probable that he had some hints from the
great architect, who himself lived for a short time in Cheyne Walk, having remodelled for Mr. Harrington Moore one of the old houses, which was thereafter called Gothic House. (fn. 1) Of the credibility of the report the reader may
judge for himself by his estimation of the skill or otherwise of the design.
The house and shop have been pulled down in the recent clearance of the
north-west side of Royal Hospital Road (1903), and with them have gone all
the other varied and picturesque buildings which are shown in Mr. W. W.
Burgess' sketch in the Chelsea Public Library.
In the committee's ms. collection are—
3164. General view from south-west (photograph).
3165. Shop front from south-west (photograph).
3166. Shop front, front view (photograph).
3167. (fn. 2) Shop front, front view (line drawing).
||This was No. 10 Cheyne Walk (pulled down in 1887). There is a local tradition that
Count d'Orsay—Carlyle's "Phœbus Apollo of Dandyism"—occupied it for a short time.