CXXXV.—WHITELANDS HOUSE, KING'S ROAD.
Ground landlord, leaseholders, etc.
The property is part of the Glebe, the leaseholders being the National
Society for the Training of Schoolmistresses.
The original house, (fn. 1) of which Mr. Beaver gives a sketch in his
Memorials of Old Chelsea(p. 373), was a substantial building of the latter
part of the 18th century. It was a girls' school in 1772, when the Rev.
John Jenkins, M.A. lectured there on "Female Education and Christian
Fortitude under Affliction." An autograph letter written by Theodore
Smith, music master; and dated 1797, complains of the treatment he had
received from the ladies of Whitelands House School, Chelsea. In 1842
the house was purchased by the National Society for the Training of
Schoolmistresses and it has been since known as Whiteland's Training
College. In 1881 John Ruskin instituted here a May Day festival, which
is celebrated each year with much picturesque ceremonial.
The house was pulled down in 1890 to make way for new buildings
which were erected in the following year. The excellent wrought iron
gate, with its torch-extinguishers and side panels, which was formerly in
the centre of the railings, has been re-fixed in the porch after some repair,
and the stone ball-finials of the piers have also been preserved.
Old prints, views, etc.
Photograph in the Chelsea Miscellany (Chelsea Public Library).
In the Council's ms. collection is:—
Photograph of wrought iron gate.
||Note.—There was another "Whitelands," an old house at the east end of Marlborough Road, which was pulled down some 20 years ago.