CXXXVIII.—"ROYAL HOSPITAL" PUBLIC
HOUSE, FRANKLIN'S ROW (Demolished).
Franklin's Row occupied the eastern side of Burton's Court, south
of Garden Row. It is said to have derived its name from Thomas Franklin
who in 1681 (fn. 1) was amerced £1 "for ploughing up a piece of pasture ground at
the bottom of the College Hill, between the college land and the meadow."
He retrieved his fault by the presentation of "two handsome brass chandeliers" to the parish church, on which were, according to Faulkner, (fn. 2) the
following curiously spelt inscriptions:—
This. tow. bransches. is. a. gift. to. the
Parish. Church. of. Schelsey. by.
Thomas. Frankling. and. Ester. his.
wif. ano. Domny. 1693.
This is a gift to Chelchey Church
December 1692. T.E.F.
These were stolen when the church was broken into in 1827. (fn. 3)
Mr. Walter W. Burgess made an etching showing the picturesque
appearance of the Row. At its southern end, and at the corner of Royal
Hospital Row was the Royal Hospital Public House. The building was
plastered and coloured white, and it had a large bay window projecting
from the first floor. The adjoining house overhung the pathway, its upper
floor being supported on iron pillars, and had an old tiled roof with dormer
windows. Together they made a picturesque group. The Inn can just
be seen in Wilkie's picture of the reception of the news of the victory of
Waterloo by the Chelsea pensioners, a drawing which gives a valuable
topographical record of the alehouses ranged along the Royal Hospital
Old prints, views, etc.
(fn. 4) Water colour drawing by Philip Norman.
Etching by Walter W. Burgess, Bits of Old Chelsea (1893).
Drawing in The "Chelsea Mail" Annual (1902).
In the Council's ms. collection are:—
Two photographs of the Inn.
||Faulkner's Chelsea and its Environs, II., p. 157.
Ibid, I., p. 219.
||They were suspended from two very boldly carved wooden rosettes—one of these
passed into the hands of Mr. H. H. Burnell, who in 1894 presented it to the Chelsea Public
Library, but it was returned to the old church at the time of its recent renovation (1908).